• Everyone, please help make our jobs easier and choose the correct category. Thank you

RCA holding vacant route

Mail lady 423

I have been holding down a vacant route for about 7 months. The route has been vacant for years. RCA's who have held it prior to me, were never required to do extra work after they came in off that route every day. I was always told that they were used in emergencies only.

right now we have a fill in PM. He clearly doesn't like me... Almost daily he will tell me to go back out and deliver parcels on other routes once I am done. Even when there are RCA's sitting at home and I don't get done with this route until 530.. I am the senior RCA and I am earning leave.
DO I have grounds to file a grievance ?
Our union representative Is automatically on his side and made a comment about how I am not in the union... It made me feel like she doesn't want to fight for me because I do not pay dues yet.

Your union rep is required to represent you, even though you are not a member.
Most union reps are not stupid enough to say anything about you not being a member. You can sue the union through the Labor Board for "failure to represent." I would ask the union rep if that is what they want. Then I would call the District Representative for the union and ask how they take to that idea.
Then, Susan Knapp, at the national union office, is extremely interested in making sure you are properly represented, member or not. She will put a stop to your union rep's passive-aggressive nonsense.

Last edited:
I have been holding down a vacant route for about 7 months. The route has been vacant for years. RCA's who have held it prior to me, were never required to do extra work after they came in off that route every day. I was always told that they were used in emergencies only.